Ukraine National Antenna Association

Logo of NAAThe National Antenna Association (NAA) was created at the beginning of 1993 as the all-Ukrainian, independent, non-profit organization. Its creation was stimulated by formation of Ukraine as an independent state and the necessity of restoration of scientific links broken due to the USSR disintegration.

Principal NAA goals are coordination of Ukrainian science in the field of antenna theory and techniques, establishment of direct links between antenna specialists of Ukraine, their experience and information interchange, organization of mutual aid of specialists. An important NAA goal also is integration of the Ukrainian science in the field of applied electromagnetics in the worldwide one.

The main results of NAA activity at the first stage of its existence are one-day and three-day Ukrainian seminars on urgent topics of antenna theory and techniques, whose associated aim was elucidation of the Ukrainian science potential. Altogether at the period from 1993 to 1996, seven seminars were held, which were participated by key specialists of Ukraine in the field of applied electromagnetics from over 60 organizations being NAA members (high schools, research institutes, enterprises) from 16 Ukraine regions.

Success in seminars holding has encouraged us to state the question about holding international conferences on antenna theory and techniques (ICATT). The first ICATT was held in Kharkiv in 1995, next ones were biennially held in different cities of Ukraine–Sevastopol, Kyiv, Lviv, Odessa. The next in turn, tenth ICATT is planned in April 2015 in Kharkiv.

These conferences are the only specialized antenna conferences within frames of UIS, which became successors of regular Pistolkors antenna conferences held in the USSR.

All the ICATTs have also been actively attended by prominent scientists from far abroad – Germany, Japan, France, the Netherlands, Italy, the USA, Poland, Ireland, Mexico and other countries. When preparing ICATTs, special attention is paid to selection of invited presentations and attraction of young scientists for participation in them. The conferences proceedings have been published in English and widely distributed around the world.

In 2002, in addition to antenna conferences ICATT, NAA initiated the International workshorp on UltraWideBand and UltraShort Impulse Signals (UWBUSIS) which has grown into International conferences UWBUSIS. By now, seven UWBUSISs are held. They generated interest of specialists, the NAA initiative was picked up by the Russians. Since 2003 similar conferences have been held in Russia too.

Today main energies of NAA are directed to co-ordination of the work on preparing scientific conferences being held annually in Ukraine (either ICATT or UWBUSIS), encouraging Ukrainian scientists to actively participate in scientific conferences being held in Russia, Belarus and far abroad. The multi-aspect work has been carried out on supporting works in the field of antenna theory and techniques in Ukraine, consulting Ukrainian scientists and engineers, helping seekers of candidate and doctor of science degrees.

President NAA – Yakov S. Shifrin

Yakov Shifrin, President of NAA

Chief researcher of the Kharkiv National University of Radio Electronics (KNURE), DrSc, Professor, Honorary Worker of Science and Engineering of Ukraine, Honorary Professor of KNURE, the Sevastopol National Technical University, Taganrog Technological Institute of the Russian Federation Southern Federal University, the Kazan State Technical University “Kazan Aviation Institute”, Honorary Doctor of the V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University, Laureate of the A.S. Popov Prize of AS USSR and the 2014 Outstanding Career Award of the European Microwave Association, Life Fellow IEEE.


Scientific secretary NAA

Nina Maksimova, scientific secretary of NAA

Dr. Nina G. Maksimova
Senior researcher of SRC IIREST KhNURE


KhNURE, of. 416, 14 Lenin av.
Kharkiv 61166 Ukraine

Tel. +380 57 702 13 93
mobile: +380 50 960 36 84